1 September 1905

Alberta and Saskatchewan became part of Canada.


The two provinces; Alberta and Saskatchewan were originally part of Rupert’s land. On September 1st, 1905, the Saskatchewan Act and the Alberta Act were adopted by the Canadian government and two new provinces joined Canada. Canada has expanded so that it spanned the entire distance between the oceans, “From Sea to Sea”. Canada still feared the American expansion and fought for more independence from the UK, because they no longer wanted to rely on Britain. The fur trade was the main reason for the exploration and development of the territory. The French and English competed with each other to discover various waterways and to establish trading posts.