12 July 1971

The Australian Aboriginal Flag is flown for the first time.

The Australian Aboriginal Flag is an official flag of Australia that represents the Aboriginal people, the indigenous inhabitants of the Australian continent. It holds significant cultural and historical importance for Aboriginal communities and is widely recognized as a symbol of their identity and heritage.

The design of the flag was created by Harold Thomas, a Luritja man from Central Australia, and it was first flown on National Aboriginal Day in Adelaide on July 12, 1971. It was later proclaimed as an official flag of Australia on July 14, 1995, under the Australian Flags Act 1953.

The flag features a horizontal divided design with a black upper half, a red lower half, and a yellow circle in the center. The black represents the Aboriginal people, the red represents the earth and their spiritual connection to the land, and the yellow circle represents the sun, which is a powerful symbol in Aboriginal culture.

The flag has gained widespread recognition and is used by Aboriginal people and organizations across Australia to promote unity, pride, and recognition of their rights and culture. It is commonly seen at events, protests, and celebrations related to Aboriginal issues and heritage. The flag has become an important symbol of Aboriginal identity and is often displayed alongside the Australian national flag and Torres Strait Islander flag at official ceremonies and public institutions.

While the Australian Aboriginal Flag is widely embraced and celebrated, there have been ongoing debates and discussions about the flag’s copyright and ownership. In 2019, the Australian government recognized the flag as a “flag of national significance” and entered into an agreement with Harold Thomas to ensure that the flag is freely available for all Australians to use, while also protecting the rights and interests of the Aboriginal community.