16 March 1898

In Melbourne, the representatives of five colonies adopt a constitution, which would become the basis of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Australia has a written constitution, which is the fundamental law of the country. The Constitution of Australia came into effect on January 1, 1901, and outlines the structure and powers of the federal government, as well as the relationship between the federal and state governments.

The Australian Constitution also guarantees certain individual rights and freedoms, including the right to trial by jury, the right to vote, and the right to freedom of religion. The Constitution can only be changed through a process known as a referendum, which requires a majority vote in both houses of Parliament and approval by the majority of voters in a national referendum.