19 February 1949

Ezra Pound is awarded the first Bollingen Prize in poetry by the Bollingen Foundation and Yale University.

The Bollingen Prize in Poetry is a prestigious literary award in the United States. It was established in 1948 by the Bollingen Foundation, which was founded by Paul Mellon and his sister Ailsa Mellon Bruce. The prize is awarded biennially for the best collection of poetry published during the preceding two years, or for lifetime achievement in poetry.

The Bollingen Prize is unique in that it recognizes both individual works and the overall contribution of a poet to the field. Winners receive a cash award and a medal. The prize is administered by Yale University, and the selection process involves a panel of distinguished poets and scholars. Over the years, the Bollingen Prize has been awarded to many prominent poets, including Wallace Stevens, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, and W.H. Auden, among others.