27 March 1809

Peninsular War: A combined Franco-Polish force defeats the Spanish in the Battle of Ciudad Real.

The Peninsular War was a conflict that lasted from 1807 to 1814, during the Napoleonic Wars. It was fought primarily on the Iberian Peninsula (modern-day Spain and Portugal), hence the name.

Background: The war began when Napoleon Bonaparte invaded Portugal and Spain in 1807, despite having previously established alliances with these countries. The invasion was part of Napoleon’s strategy to enforce the Continental System, which aimed to blockade Britain economically.

Resistance: The invasion sparked widespread resistance among the Spanish and Portuguese populations. Guerrilla warfare tactics were employed by local militias and irregular forces, which harassed and disrupted French supply lines and communications.

British Intervention: The United Kingdom, led by the Duke of Wellington (Arthur Wellesley), intervened on the side of Portugal and Spain. British forces, alongside Portuguese and Spanish allies, played a crucial role in several key battles, including the decisive Battle of Waterloo in 1815.

Key Battles: The Peninsular War featured several significant battles, including the Battle of Talavera, Battle of Salamanca, and the Siege of Ciudad Rodrigo. These battles saw both victories and defeats for the Allied forces, but ultimately contributed to the weakening of French control in the region.

End of the War: The Peninsular War came to an end in 1814 with the defeat of Napoleon and the subsequent Treaty of Paris. France withdrew its forces from the Iberian Peninsula, allowing Spain and Portugal to regain their independence.

The Peninsular War was a crucial theater of conflict during the Napoleonic Wars, marked by resistance movements, guerrilla warfare, and significant battles that ultimately contributed to the downfall of Napoleon’s empire. If you had a different event or conflict in mind for 1908, please provide more details, and I’d be happy to assist further.