9 May 1955

Cold War: West Germany joins NATO.

NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organization) is a military alliance formed by 30 North American and European countries with the primary purpose of ensuring the collective defense of its member states against potential security threats.

NATO’s main role is to provide a framework for consultation and cooperation between its members on matters of common interest and to develop and maintain the military capabilities necessary for collective defense. This includes deterring potential adversaries, conducting crisis management and conflict resolution, and supporting stability and security in the Euro-Atlantic area and beyond.

NATO also promotes political dialogue and cooperation with non-member countries and organizations, such as the European Union and the United Nations, and provides a platform for sharing expertise and best practices on a wide range of defense and security-related issues.

In addition to its core mission of collective defense, NATO has been involved in a range of other activities, including humanitarian and disaster relief operations, counterterrorism, and support for international peacekeeping efforts.