3 May 1952

The Kentucky Derby is televised nationally for the first time, on the CBS network.

The Kentucky Derby is an annual horse race that takes place on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky, United States. It is one of the most prestigious horse races in the world and is often referred to as “The Run for the Roses” due to the blanket of roses that is draped over the winner.

The race is open to three-year-old Thoroughbreds, and it covers a distance of 1 1/4 miles (about 2 kilometers). The race has been run every year since its inception in 1875, making it the oldest continuously held sporting event in the United States.

The Kentucky Derby is the first race in the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing, which also includes the Preakness Stakes and the Belmont Stakes. Winning all three races is considered one of the greatest achievements in horse racing.

The Kentucky Derby is known for its traditions, including the playing of “My Old Kentucky Home” as the horses make their way onto the track, the drinking of mint juleps, and the wearing of elaborate hats by spectators.

The race has also seen its share of memorable moments, including Secretariat’s record-breaking win in 1973 and the upset victory of longshot Mine That Bird in 2009.