6 May 1682

Louis XIV of France moves his court to the Palace of Versailles.

The Palace of Versailles is a grand palace located in the town of Versailles, France. Originally built as a hunting lodge in the early 17th century, it was expanded by Louis XIV in the late 17th century into the largest palace in Europe at the time.

The palace is famous for its ornate architecture and decoration, particularly the Hall of Mirrors, which features 17 mirror-clad arches that reflect the gardens outside. The palace also has extensive gardens, which cover over 800 hectares and feature fountains, sculptures, and a canal.

Throughout its history, the Palace of Versailles has been used as a royal residence, a center of government, and a symbol of France’s power and influence. It was the site of important historical events, including the signing of the Treaty of Versailles that ended World War I.

Today, the Palace of Versailles is a popular tourist attraction, visited by millions of people each year. It has also been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site and is considered one of the most important examples of French Baroque architecture.