26 April 1986

The Chernobyl disaster occurs in the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic.

The Chernobyl disaster was a catastrophic nuclear accident that occurred on April 26, 1986, at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant in the Ukrainian SSR, which was then part of the Soviet Union. The accident occurred during a late-night safety test of one of the plant’s reactors, when a sudden power surge caused a massive explosion and fire that released a huge amount of radioactive material into the air.

The explosion and resulting fire killed two plant workers on the night of the accident, and another 29 people died from acute radiation sickness in the following weeks. The disaster also contaminated large areas of land and water with radioactive fallout, forcing the evacuation of over 100,000 people and causing long-term health effects for many more.

The Chernobyl disaster is considered to be the worst nuclear accident in history, both in terms of the immediate human impact and the long-term environmental and health consequences. It led to significant changes in nuclear safety practices and regulations around the world

26 April 1964

Tanganyika and Zanzibar merge to form Tanzania.

On 26 April 1964, Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged to form a new republic, the name ’Tanzania’ being adopted on 29 October 1964. Like the name of the country, the new flag adopted was a merger of that of its constituent parts. The lower green stripe of the Tanganyika flag took the blue of the Zanzibar flag, and the stripes were re-arranged diagonally to give them equal status.
Stuart Notholt, 29 Jun 1996

26 April 1964

Tanganyika and Zanzibar merge to form Tanzania.

The Articles of Union of Tanganyika and Zanzibar of 1964 is the main foundation of the Constitutions of the United Republic of Tanzania of 1977 and the Zanzibar Revolutionary Government of 1984. The Articles of the Union were signed on April 22, 1964 by the Founders of the Union, Julius Nyerere and Abeid Amani Karume and agreed in 11 matters which later increased to over 22 and are the source of tension and dispute between Tanzania mainland and Zanzibar.see Uamsho movement The original Articles of Union which contain both Signatures from Nyerere and Karume are yet to be found.

The United Republic of Tanzania was formed on 26 April 1964 as a result of the Union of Tanganyika and Zanzibar. Julius Kambarage Nyerere became the first President of the United Republic of Tanzania and Sheikh Abeid Karume became the First Vice President of the United Republic of Tanzania and the President of Zanzibar and Chairman of the Revolutionary Council. The late Rashidi Mfaume Kawawa became the second Vice President of Tanzania and leader of Government business in the National Assembly.

Like other African countries, the people of Tanganyika opposed and fought against colonial invaders from the very beginning. This included the formation of African Associations in both Tanganyika and Zanzibar. The African Association was established in Tanganyika in 1929. This association was transformed into the Tanganyika African Association in 1948.

In 1953 under the leadership of Mwalimu Julius Kambarage Nyerere, TAA was recognised as a political party and was transformed into the Tanganyika African National Union in 1954.

On Zanzibar’s part, the various football clubs established in the early 1930s provided the basis for the coming together of members of the African community. By 1934,members of the African community united in a formal organisation known as the African Association. The formation of the Zanzibar Nationalist Party in 1955 forced leaders of the African Association and the Shirazi Association to unite. In 1957, the Shirazi Association and African Association united to form the Afro-Shirazi Party under the leadership of Sheikh Abeid Amani Karume.

It is believed that the agreement for the unification of the two states was signed by the first President of Tanganyika, the late Mwalimu Julius Kambarage Nyerere, and the first Zanzibar President, the late Sheikh Abeid Amani Karume, on 22 April 1964, in Zanzibar. Although the Original Articles of the union does not exist, It was agreed that,to become valid The Articles of the Union must be ratified by both Tanganyika’s Parliament and Zanzibar revolutionary council,the Articles was ratified by Tanganyika’s Parliament on 26 April 1964 but was not ratified by the Zanzibar Revolutionary Council as per agreement. On 27 April 1964, the leaders of the two countries exchanged legal documents of the Union at the Karimjee Hall in Dar es Salaam. The Articles of the Union declared the formation of the United Republic in Section 4.

26 April 1943

The Easter Riots break out in Uppsala, Sweden.

The Easter Riots is the name given to a period of unrest in Uppsala, Sweden, during the Easter of 1943. The National Socialist group Swedish Socialist Unity held its national congress in Uppsala, amid the Second World War and only days after events like the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. The unrest climaxed on 26 April, when the SSS – who after initially belonging to a Strasserist wing of National Socialism began adopting a more indigenous form of fascism in 1938, and included Ingvar Kamprad among its early members – ended the congress by holding a demonstration at the Royal Mounds of Old Uppsala.

Thousands of anti-fascists gathered to protest against the Nazi gathering at the Royal Mounds, a historical site that held much political symbolism among Swedish nationalists. Policemen had been called in from Stockholm to defend the demonstration, and after the situation became increasingly tense they resorted to violence, dispersing the peacefully protesting crowds and onlookers alike with heavy force.

In addition to writing a book about it, the historian and playwright Magnus Alkarp has depicted the riots in a play, 4 dagar i april. The play, produced by the Uppsala City Theatre and directed by Sara Cronberg, was put up in 2012.[4] Alkarp received death threats from the Swedish Resistance Movement, a militant neo-Nazi group, after the play’s premier.