27 October 1924

The Uzbek SSR is founded in the Soviet Union.

The Uzbek SSR, or Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic, was a constituent republic of the Soviet Union. It existed from 1924 until 1991 when the Soviet Union dissolved. The Uzbek SSR was located in Central Asia, and its capital was Tashkent.

The establishment of the Uzbek SSR was part of the Soviet government’s policy of creating ethnically defined republics within the larger Soviet Union. It was formed as a result of the Soviet reorganization of Central Asia, which included the drawing of new administrative borders and the establishment of republics to represent the various ethnic groups in the region.

During its existence, the Uzbek SSR was under the control of the Soviet government and followed a socialist economic and political system. The economy was largely centralized and focused on agriculture and industry. Uzbekistan was an important cotton-producing region for the Soviet Union.

In 1991, following the collapse of the Soviet Union, the Uzbek SSR declared independence and became the Republic of Uzbekistan, which continues to exist as an independent country to this day. Since gaining independence, Uzbekistan has undergone significant political, economic, and social changes.